STShotgun's C:MD Overhaul [BETA]

The 2016 reincarnation of Carmageddon! Discuss, mod and troubleshoot!
STShotgun
hit n run

STShotgun's C:MD Overhaul [BETA]

Post by STShotgun »

So this is a mod I've been working on and off for a few years now. My aim was to try and fix some of the severe problems with the gameplay and make the game more fun for myself. I've always felt that C:R/MD lacks a lot of 'oomph', so I hope you can enjoy the game a lot more with this mod. Since so many changes have been made, you could think of this as a full new update!

Heads up: this is meant to be run with the beta patch!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What the overhaul contains:

The big changes include:
  • Rebalanced cars for car-on-car combat
  • Less slippery handling overall
  • Many new powerups
  • New times of day and weather settings
  • Various ped improvements
    • AI tweaks
    • More variation + restored C:R peds
  • AI powerup gifting
..and a whole lot more. Here's the full list of changes and additions:
► Show Spoiler
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Screenshots:
► Show Spoiler

Download

Installation:

The drag & drop way:

If you're looking to go through career with the game's progression then this is what you'll want to do.
  • Drag and drop the ZAD into the ZAD folder
..and that's it!

To install an addon, just drag and drop that into the folder too.

The CarMODgeddon way:

If you're not bothered about the career and just want to play freeplay, then this is the way to go. The main advantage of this method is that it unlocks everything and allows for new levels and cars*. The main con of this method is that the career is pointless due to everything being unlocked, but this won't matter if you don't want to play career anyway.

As explained in Trent's beta patch thread, you'll need to do this:
  • Create a folder called ZIP_MODS in C:MD's root folder