The C2 Glide Thread

A place where noobs can learn the lay of the land and avoid common mistakes.

Moderator: coffeycup

Post Reply
nWo4life
motorised death
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 10:52 am

The C2 Glide Thread

Post by nWo4life » Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:10 pm

Aight, I got this one Coffey.

Let me start off this thread with a couple of common Glidewrappers, just basic stuff here...

Zeckensacks Glide Wrapper

dgVoodoo [May in some cases be better for getting glide to work on a 1024x768 screen].

And euhm, here are some common settings for the Zeckensack Glide Wrapper to run C2 under a higher resolution than 1024x768.

And let me show some settings I used for the dgVoodoo thing * <------------------------ READ BELOW

EDIT: I believe I used the dgVoodoo one to somehow get rid of that mouse-in-the-box thing, though I'm not sure that this was the key to succes. You can at least try.

And that's about everything I can tell.

*I don't know sh(!)t about these settings, so if you think you can tell me what to do better in that setup, tell me and I'll shoot a new picture and if neccessary let somebody edit this post.

User avatar
coffeycup
Genesis
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by coffeycup » Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:20 am

Cool, thanks!

User avatar
Qwerty_86
motorised death
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by Qwerty_86 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:40 pm

Anisotropy slows down my game a lot at 4x. I have mine turned off. Really I don't notice a very big difference with it on anyways. I've got a 128MB ATI Raedon, 1 GB of RAM, and a 2.0GHz Athlon

User avatar
coffeycup
Genesis
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by coffeycup » Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:37 am

What is Anisotropy anyway? Sounds like a disease :P

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5092
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by TTR » Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:07 am

You've got AA and AF, AA makes the edges of 3d models razorsharp (for example) and AF is about the textures in the far distance with filter (i run everything at 16x)

AA: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-aliasing

AF: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anisotropic_filtering

User avatar
Qwerty_86
motorised death
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by Qwerty_86 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:54 pm

So I gave AF another try. I turned down antialias to 2x and anistropy to 2x and it seems to be a pretty good balance. It does look a little nicer and seems a little speedier

User avatar
BioHazard911
driver
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 6:06 am

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by BioHazard911 » Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:17 pm

well, i'm going to give Anistropic at 16x and i'm running a Intel Dual Core with a Winfast PX7600GS (nVidia 8800GTX overclocked coming soon) and i can run nearly any game. so hopefully it'll work.
Image

Yfrid
hit n run
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 5:46 pm

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by Yfrid » Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:33 am

Recently i've tried to use DGVoodoo instead of GlideWrapper for C2. Runs almost at the same way, but the most interesting thing, after better resolutions support, is that it finally solved that ugly effect on peds animation! now their animations are smooth

Does someone else use DGVoodoo for Carma2? That i wonder to know if it was just a lucky coincidence for me, or if DGV is actually more compatible with c2. The "only" fault is that sometimes few textures got swapped, but maybe i have only to find some better settings

This is how i've setup it:

DgVoodoo v1.50 beta2

GLOBAL:

RENDER API: "DirecDraw7 & Direct3D7"

video driver: "Primary video driver"

Display driver: "Direct3D T&L HAL"

Screen mode: "Full screen"

Screen depth: "32 bit"

(anything else unchecked)

GLIDE:

Textures depth: "32bit"

Refresh Rate: (nothing checked)

Textures options: "Force Bilinear filtering" (anything else unchecked)

LFB access: "LFB access enabled"

"close to real harware" checked (nothing else checked)

Colorkeying method: "Automatic"

Texture memory: "65536"

Resolution: "1024x768" (just because 1280x960 was slow)

Gamma correction: "default"

Refresh rate: "85Hz"

"harware vertex buffers" and "force W-buffering" checked (nothing else)

User avatar
Teutonicus
pedestrian
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:00 am
Location: GERMANY

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by Teutonicus » Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:44 am

Hey Folks,

I´m having another glide wrapper problem. If you look at the attached file you seee what I mean. In some levels the horizon looks like covered in snow... don´t like that. I got those problems with zeckensacks GW. With dgvoodoo I don´t have this problem, but a few others. Anybody knows hot to fix it???

Thanks

Attachment (60 downloads) Id=94150

User avatar
coffeycup
Genesis
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: The C2 Glide Thread

Post by coffeycup » Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:40 am

What snow? Are you talking about the white fog? That has nothing to do with GlideWrapper.

Set the YON FACTOR higher for a longer draw distance

http://www.cwaboard.com/ubbthreads/show ... #Post83345

set it to 999 for almost no fog or 150 or 200 for more realistic effect

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest