Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

MagnaChem research & development unit.

Moderators: coffeycup, Toshiba-3

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:11 pm

[img]http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/4201 ... ck4qc6.jpg[/img]

Back from its grave.
I fixed all the smoothing groups.
Finally removed every tree and bush, I'll see later about the non-cars of this type, I guess I'll just plot dead trees here and there.
Already optimized the amount of alphachanneled textures a bit more.
I changed the sky (you can see the previous one in the pic with the Clio).

ToDo list :
- Scale up the track (~185%)
- Replace the electric pilars by fully 3D models
- Optimize/fix the fucking Dock part...
- Setup the lighting/coloring effects
- Powerups
- Activate the grooves
- Plot the non-cars
- Setup the peds
- Checkpoints
- Opponents path
- Add some "advertisings" for friends in the track
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by TTR » Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:16 pm

I want that cl...no thats it :grin: Good job you get it going again, its worth it to have this yeah!

(Especially seeing the to do list :uh::smile::bunny:)

User avatar
coffeycup
Genesis
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:05 pm
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by coffeycup » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:06 am

That is cool looking. I don't think the electrical towers look bad. They're done with alpha-channeled textures? What are the grooves that need activating?

AcdTrip
hit n run
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:06 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by AcdTrip » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:49 pm

argh.. don't know what to say about it :D it's just awesome :)

btw. what's that car in the last pic?

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by TTR » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:41 pm

Exactly

LINK

AcdTrip
hit n run
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:06 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by AcdTrip » Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:35 pm

Ooh!! Thank you thank you :) very mucho!!

cesm20
turbo bastard
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2001 5:00 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by cesm20 » Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:05 pm

by the way, toshiba, last time i tried the track remember i told you it took a long time to load, i hope you try preprocessing it with more colums so that it gets faster to load in the game, right ? Altough be carefull because at some point, the columns will become too small for the bigger noncars or smashables and pt2 will crash... (this is something that definetly has to be added to the wiki later).

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by TTR » Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:19 pm

Yeah ive told him that too, altho i got a faster computer now so i dont care :mmh: :grin: LOL j/k

And np AcidTrip

AcdTrip
hit n run
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:06 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by AcdTrip » Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:34 pm

It's awesome :)

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:51 pm

Yeah 30*30 columns and as the map is really large and I don't have any big non-car, I think that even with that size per column, there shouldn't be any conflict. Though there's another problem : some people have reported an "Insufficient model slots in storage area" error, and I presume it's because of the big columns matrix. 'Guess I'll have to lower it a bit anyway...
It currently takes about 1min30/2min to load on my comp.

@ Coffey : Yep, the electrical pylons are made with alpha-channeled textures ; and about the grooves : there are some floating boats, a kind of big fan to exract fluid from the ground (dunno the english term~), and then big petrol pumps.
There could have been moving trains if the rails weren't broken :grin:


[img]http://img387.imageshack.us/img387/7822 ... ck5tv1.jpg[/img]

Status update :

- Definitely fixed the damn alphachannel problem :bunny:
- Electrical towers will not change (not causing problems anymore) (and yeah Coffey, they look quite good).
- Scaled up the map, I think it's the right scale now.
- Docks part fixed.

Still to do in the MAX part :
- Make and plot the big (non-non-cars) dead trees.
- Make and plot the normal (non-cars) dead trees.
- Test the grass idea, as said in the ASE2ASC thread.
- Fix some 3D wires.
- Export each type of non-car in its own MAX scene for exportation to PT2.
- Make the list of the non-cars and grooves coord (I can do it directly as my scene in MAX and the one in PT2 have the same 3d unit and scale).
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

User avatar
Mastro 666
speed freak
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Mastro 666 » Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:29 am

WOW! 5 out of 5 stars It is BRILLIANT! :grin:

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:58 pm

Last WIP from the MAX stage I guess.

Dead Trees !
[img]http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/3937 ... eesdd5.jpg[/img]

There will be a total of 143 non-cars/smashes/grooves in the track.
Need a coords list and replot everything in PT2 now...
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

User avatar
Mastro 666
speed freak
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Mastro 666 » Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:22 am

[quote=Toshiba]There will be a total of 143 non-cars/smashes/grooves in the track.[/quote]
Heh, I can't wait to try this out, It looks amazing.:smile:

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by TTR » Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:07 pm

Excellent work Tosh, just excellent.

AcdTrip
hit n run
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:06 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by AcdTrip » Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:33 am

Hope my comp won't spit out its spirit when I try this one :) i'm just waiting the day it dies, never I hope :S

User avatar
coffeycup
Genesis
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:05 pm
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by coffeycup » Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:47 pm

wow, 143 non-cars..smashing fun...are those railroad cars and the rusted out truck I see also non-cars?

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:41 pm

Thanks for the comments~
The railroad cars aren't non-cars but the rusted out trucks and cars are.
And about the comp power to run this track : well... you'll ofcourse need a big config, because it's quite hi-poly in some places (total is 350 000+ tris), and also to reduce the loading time which can go from ~1min30sec to 10+ minutes ...

Some more WIPs, include some peds, the ads for friends and my grass idea :uh:

[img]http://rr2000.toshiba-3.com/R6/HTAtrack6.jpg[/img]

[img]http://rr2000.toshiba-3.com/R6/HTA_friends.jpg[/img]

@ CESM : I assigned a diffuse color to the grass in MAX and it got ported to PT2 correctly, so this feature works well. But I've also created a kind of box around the map in order to avoid opponents to fall from the track in some places, I assigned a default material (grey) in MAX and set opacity to 0% for this box (this way it's invisible in-game), ASE2ASC created the texture correctly meaning it saw the material needed an alphachannel, but in-game the texture isn't transparent while PT2 shows it has an alphachanneled texture too (no thumb in the materials viewer)~
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

cesm20
turbo bastard
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2001 5:00 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by cesm20 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:34 pm

toshiba : well, i need you to send me the ase file, and then tell me the name of the material that has the problem. I have to try this myself to really understand where is the problem exactly, just use my email account to send that.

By the way when you told about having 153 noncars... you meant 153 along with grooves and smashables without noncars, right ? Because you know you can't have more than 43 different normal noncars (unless you spawn them from smashables), and can't have more than 99 different noncars in total unless you share bboxes in some of them... Can you be more splicit ?

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:18 pm

Hi~
Quick status update !

I'm still in the accessories plotting stage : all the grooves are plotted and animated, I've also plotted all the original smashables, but as they kinda rock I'll place a fuckin' lot more of them ! :grin:

And then I'll plot the damn noncars.

[img]http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/9601 ... 545yt4.jpg[/img]

And a little video of one of the animations :
Oil Pump Mechanics

And a little stunt :mmh: :
Rollin Rollin

Note : the peds are not definitive at all uh :uh:

[edit] I'll be adding like 150 smashables more. Not gonna be that hard as I'm apparently able to import them all in a single import while keeping each center coordinates intact :hehehe: [/edit]
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

cesm20
turbo bastard
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2001 5:00 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by cesm20 » Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:54 pm

please continue the good work i hope you finish this someday!

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:57 pm

Status update~

~150 smashables
~125 non-cars
~15 grooves
~30 powerups

Currently trying to get the powerup FUNK animation right.
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:12 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse for Carmageddon 2 is done.

[img]http://www.toshiba-3.com/misc/HTA_final.jpg[/img]

+ large post-apocalyptic track
+ grass
+ custom powerup model
+ blended terrain textures
+ uncommon 3D detailing for C2 (just like the Speedbowl)
+ ~150 smashables
+ ~125 non-cars
+ ~15 grooves
+ ~30 powerups
+ ~220 peds
+ the usual stuff, etc...

A powerfull computer is recommended. I mean... really.
I have a Pentium 4 3.2GHZ + 6800GT 256MB + 1GB RAM, the loading time is 2min42sec.
You can compare with the loading time of Bleakcity2, here it is 1min03sec.
In-game framerate may drop drasticly if your comp is too slow.
Minimum requirements are (from the readme) :

[c]A powerfull configuration is needed. 256MB GPU are prefered. 6800GT or equivalent or greater recommended.
Glidewrapper. Fast CPU. 3Ghz or greater recommended. Lots of fast RAM. 1GB RAM recommended.
Superpatch V2 installed.[/c]

Contact me if you think you...
1) care enough about C2 development.
2) can run it correctly.

Tosh.
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

AcdTrip
hit n run
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:06 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by AcdTrip » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:26 am

Ok.. I won't be testing this until I get a new machine :S

User avatar
coffeycup
Genesis
Posts: 3943
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:05 pm
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by coffeycup » Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:41 am

I don't think it'll run on my system.:mleh:

User avatar
Econobrick
motorised death
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2000 4:00 pm
Location: Sutter and Belmont

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Econobrick » Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:09 pm

I've run it on both of the better comps in this here house (both of which are slightly below tosh's and ttr's specs) both have a 3 minute (approximate) loading time, once the race starts though, it all runs very nicely.

comp 1:
athlon 64 3400+
2.40 ghz
1 gb ram
geforce 6800 GT

comp 2:
athlon 64 3700+
2.2 ghz
896 mb ram
onboard video card (identified as Geforce 6100 256mb)

And quite a rippin' track it is! but that goes without saying?!

AcdTrip
hit n run
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:06 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by AcdTrip » Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:44 pm

Ok.. just fort referrence :D
Intel Celeron 1.1ghz@1.4ghz
3*128mb of sdram
Elsa Gladiac GeForce 3 64mb? (dont remember the memory size)

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by TTR » Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:35 am

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.40Ghz x2
2GB DDR2 RAM
Geforce 8800GTX 768MB

Results in a loading time of 53 seconds.

User avatar
Morbid Angel
speed freak
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:51 am

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Morbid Angel » Fri Dec 29, 2006 8:37 am

it won't work on my system ...
:smile:

Here is my config :
AMD Athlon 1Ghz
384 Mo SDRAM 100 Mhz
GeForce 2 MX 32 Mo

Pretty old stuff, isn't it ?
:grin:

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:11 pm

Yeah... Sorry 'bout that guys :errr:

My next track will probably be a convertion of 1920s from TDR to C2.
I'm pretty sure it will run without any problem even on the oldest configurations :uh:
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:30 pm

Hard Truck Apocalypse for C2 - Public Release

We just decided to make a public release of the damn track.
There has been no change since the private release.

The track still takes a lot of time to load and still needs a good config to run smoothly.
You may still try it anyway~

Download here.
-> HardTruck_C2.rar : ~17MB
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

User avatar
Alex_Dynamite
motorised death
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:18 pm
Location: Moose Jaw, Sask., Canada
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Alex_Dynamite » Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:44 pm

"Insufficient model slots in storage area" [img]http://www.planetsmilies.com/smilies/sad/sad0065.gif[/img]
Happens shortly after track loading begins.

User avatar
Toshiba-3
アルカリ (単3形)
Posts: 3902
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 1986 12:13 pm
Location: Belgium/France
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Toshiba-3 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:02 pm

Mmmmh... Do you have the V2 Superpatch installed ? and the FFB.TXT tweaked (it may help) ?
Also have you tried running the track with only 1 opponent ?
BTW what is your config, RAM especially ?

Some people already had this error, and I don't remember we found any solution at that moment :mleh:
The high preprocessing columns matrix increase the amount of models insanely, but it's also what makes the loading time way shorter.
Image / carmageddon add-ons at road reaction

User avatar
Alex_Dynamite
motorised death
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:18 pm
Location: Moose Jaw, Sask., Canada
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Alex_Dynamite » Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:49 pm

I believe I have all the patches installed. Havent touched the FFB.TXT.
I tried it with one opponent, but no luck.
I've got 512 of RAM and a Cellereon 2ghz[img]http://www.planetsmilies.com/smilies/sad/sad0065.gif[/img]

I've unfortinatly had problems with very large tracks before. I had trouble getting Bleak City working. I had it working, but it had suddenly stoped working a while ago.

TTR
motorised death
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:40 am
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by TTR » Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:59 pm

The V2 Superpatch there :
http://koti.mbnet.fi/jariky/Index.html (at the bottom of the page)

Try that :smile:

User avatar
Alex_Dynamite
motorised death
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:18 pm
Location: Moose Jaw, Sask., Canada
Contact:

Hard Truck Apocalypse to C2

Post by Alex_Dynamite » Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:05 pm

Thanks! That worked! Had to redo my opponents and races.txt, though. Oh well, my opponents.txt needed cleaning up.

Very nice work, Tosh! Makes for some nice off-roading. Good thing I choose TTR's Reserected!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests